did you know that people play billiards competitively?  like, it’s a sport or something!  i mean, they have tournaments.  it’s a professional activity!  i was over at some friend’s house last night and we went to turn on a movie.  the tv came on and what should we see but some semifinal round of a billiard competition!  i was like, “you’ve got to be kidding me!”  but no, this was not a joke.  it was totally for real.  and there was even prize money!  like, 25grand!  insane….  although, as we watched, we actually started getting hooked.  the two guys competing were setting up all sorts of really cool-looking trick shots.  but even as cool as they looked, i still couldn’t get over the fact that billiards was a professional,  competitive activity (i refuse to call it a sport)!   

3 thoughts on “

  1. I had that happen too!  One day at my grandparents I was flipping through the channels and stopped on ESPN, and I saw “Trick Shot Billiards Championships!”  And I thought… wow.  They must really be struggling to find programming.
    Then I started watching.  Wow.  They can do some really cool stuff.  They were stacking pieces of chalk up and putting balls on top of those and doing crazy tricks, making things spin around in little curves, stuff like that.  And the best part was that one of the guys looked like Mark Twain and Colonel Sanders combined. Einstein hair, and the Mark Twain clothes with the little Colonel Sanders goatee.  It was awesome!

  2. haha, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Billiards competition on TV before… It doesn’t exactly sound like something I want to go flipping through the channels for either, but that definitely sounds interesting. 🙂

  3. o my gosh  yes this is Amanda from worldview.
    so how are you doing? great i hope. I just got back from a missions trip from Juarez Mexico it was awesoem! God is awesome!
    well i gtg. ~Amanda~

Leave a Reply

