hiking thoughts

during the hike in the previous post, there were several points where we accidentally got off the trail.  it was easy to just step wherever it was clear and we didn’t realize that we had deviated until we looked up ahead and noticed that we were off course.

it struck me as being a similar parallel to life…  when you focus only on what’s immediately in front of you, it’s easy to lose sight of the goal, the path, the big picture, your trail guide, etc.  and it is helpful to look up and look ahead at where you’re headed and where you’re being led, both to make sure you stay on course, and also to build courage for the next step. 

i became freshly grateful for all the wonderful means that God has placed in my life to help me “look up” and “look ahead” and keep my eyes on Jesus, who is leading me through this life. 

_things like the local church – with regular solid teaching that is biblical and gospel-centered and reminds me of the big picture of what life is really all about. 

_things like Godly friendships that remind me both that there are other people and lives outside of my own (!!), as well as speak objective truth into my life when all i can see are the immediate circumstances surrounding me. 

_things like scripture to keep me on course and to give me an objective guide to life that never fails and never deviates. 

my eyes and my legs get weary of walking sometimes and i need outside means to lift my chin and give me a hand.

“looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith…”  Hebrews 12:2

One thought on “hiking thoughts

  1. Andrea, those are such profound thoughts. 🙂 I believe being in nature is one of God’s most distinct ways of communicating truth to us. It’s everywhere!! 🙂 thank you for your sensitivity to what God is teaching you, it’s encouraging.
    Way to look up, lady!

Leave a Reply

