2 years | 2 months

Today Zach and I have been courting for 2 months. 

Today’s evening excerpt from Spurgeon’s Morning & Evening is especially
meaningful to me today.  Not necessarily because of what it says (it is very good!), but
because I distinctly recall the first time I read it and the
circumstances surrounding it – 2 years ago. 

I
was in Pasadena visiting Jonathan and Nicole for a weekend.  I really
liked Zach.  I had no idea what was going on in Zach’s head (in regards
to me) or what God was doing.  And I was struggling.  I didn’t
understand why certain things were happening.  I wanted to know what
God was up to and what the point was.  Why was I going through this? 
And why was it so hard?  Did God have plans for Zach and I?  Was this
just another struggle that I would get over and move on from and add to
the list?  I remember feeling very emotional and a little bit
desperate.  That morning I opened my Bible and read.  And then I opened
my beloved copy of Spurgeon’s “Morning and Evening” and read both
excerpts.  The evening entry was soothing to my soul.

__________________
August 14th – Evening
“I know their sorrows.” – Exodus 3:7

The child is cheered as he sings,
“This my father knows;” and shall not we be comforted as we discern
that our dear Friend and tender soul-husband knows all about us?

1. He is the Physician, and if
he knows all, there is no need that the patient should know. Hush, thou
silly, fluttering heart, prying, peeping, and suspecting! What thou
knowest not now, thou shalt know hereafter, and meanwhile Jesus, the
beloved Physician, knows thy soul in adversities. Why need the patient
analyze all the medicine, or estimate all the symptoms? This is the
Physician’s work, not mine; it is my business to trust, and his to
prescribe. If he shall write his prescription in uncouth characters
which I cannot read, I will not be uneasy on that account, but rely
upon his unfailing skill to make all plain in the result, however
mysterious in the working.

2. He is the Master, and his
knowledge is to serve us instead of our own; we are to obey, not to
judge: “The servant knoweth not what his lord doeth.” Shall the
architect explain his plans to every hodman on the works? If he knows
his own intent, is it not enough? The vessel on the wheel cannot guess
to what pattern it shall be conformed, but if the potter understands
his art, what matters the ignorance of the clay? My Lord must not be
cross-questioned any more by one so ignorant as I am.

3. He is the Head. All
understanding centres there. What judgment has the arm? What
comprehension has the foot? All the power to know lies in the head. Why
should the member have a brain of its own when the head fulfils for it
every intellectual office? Here, then, must the believer rest his
comfort in sickness, not that he himself can see the end, but that
Jesus knows all. Sweet Lord, be thou forever eye, and soul, and head
for us, and let us be content to know only what thou choosest to reveal.
________________

The
line that I remember sticking out to me was toward the end of 1 –
“If he shall write his prescription in uncouth characters
which I cannot read, I will not be uneasy on that account, but rely
upon his unfailing skill to make all plain in the result, however
mysterious in the working.”  I felt as if I was staring at a set of
“uncouth characters” that I could not read.  But my soul was comforted
and determined to rest in God’s sovereignty and trust him to make all
things plain one day.

I am challenged to ask a different set of questions when things get
tough.  Questions like “What is God doing now that I just can’t see?”
or “How is God moving in a way that seems mysterious now but will be
made plain later?” or “Just how amazing do I have faith that it will be
when all is revealed in due course?”

It
is a most encouraging entry to read again – 2 years later – and see
some of God’s plan emerge from “mysterious” to “plain.”  I had no idea then what God had in store for us now.  I am so provoked toward greater faith in His knowledge of all my circumstances and His plan for all of my life. These truths still ring just as true today as they did 2 years ago. 

4 thoughts on “2 years | 2 months

  1. Hi! I did donate my hair–hence the two pigtails. There was so much hair the girl who cut it wanted to put it in two instead of one big ponytail. Which raises an interesting point…why is one called a “ponytail” & two called “pigtails”? And why the pony & the pig? Interesting…Anyway, happy belated two months of courting! Sorry I didn’t send a card. 🙂

Leave a Reply

